Annual General Meeting

The Annual General Meeting of the ECHO Players Society was held on Thursday August 30th at 7pm at the Village Theatre.

Read and Download the President's Report (PDF) here ...

Meet our new Board for 2018 - 19:

President - Rose Knabb
Vice President - Mike Andrews
Secretary - Anne Drozd
Treasurer - John Stuart
Directors At large (serving a 2 year term)
Jennifer Kelly
Ron Stoltz
Stephen Torrence
(Serving for another year)
Margaret Jenkins
Jim Windsor
Sue Murguly


Show More...


Mainstage 2018 Awards List

Theatre BC Mainstage 2018 Results, Vernon BC
Adjudicator: Stephen Drover

Best Production sponsored by RBC Dominion Securities:
Calendar Girls, Powerhouse Theatrical Society, Okanagan Zone

Burnaby Award sponsored by Langley Players Drama Club:
Blackbird, Stage North Theatre Society, Peace River Zone

Best Director sponsored by Nanaimo Theatre Group:
Tanya Laing Gahr, Powerhouse Theatrical Society, Okanagan Zone

Best Actress sponsored by Home Building Centre:
Beth Devolder, E.C.H.O. Players Society, North Island Zone

Best Actor sponsored by TBC Okanagan Zone:
Julian Ratz, Williams Lake Studio Theatre, Central Interior Zone

Best Supporting Actress sponsored by Sun Life Insurance:
Claire Lindsay, Between Shifts Theatre, North Shore Zone

Best Supporting Actor sponsored by TBC Central Interior Zone:
Barry Goodsell, Powerhouse Theatrical Society, Okanagan Zone

Best Ensemble sponsored by Courtenay Little Theatre:
Halo, Malone Hanson, Breanne Poole, Syndney Gazso, Graysen Braun, Hailey Hanson, Caylen Braun, Yiorgos Sahamis, Erica Revin, Abigail Colibaba, Johathon Woyke, Chilliwack School of Performing Arts, Fraser Valley Zone

Best Lighting Design sponsored by Christie Lites Sales:
The Best Brothers, Donald Willer, Marianne Brorup Weston, Terrace Little Theatre, Skeena Zone

Best Sound Design sponsored by Kal Tire:
No Exit, Graham Coates, Theatre in the Country, Fraser Valley Zone

Best Set Design sponsored by Powerhouse Theatrical Society:
Hand to God, Sheryl-Lynn Lewis, Jamie Regier, Williams Lake Studio Theatre, Central Interior Zone

Best Set Decorating/Properties sponsored by BC Drama Association Theatre BC:
Blackbird, Bronwyn Hall, Dennis Szalai, Stage North Theatre Society, Peace River Zone

Best Costume Design sponsored by Doug Perri & Norman White:
Collected Stories, Jane Still, E.C.H.O. Players Society, North Island Zone

Bill Elliott Award Best Performance by Youth or Novice sponsored by TBC North Shore Zone:
Graysen Braun, Chilliwack School of Performing Arts, Fraser Valley Zone

Darrell Philips Workshop Award sponsored by Theatre Kelowna Society:
Mary’s Wedding, Stage North Theatre Society, Peace River Zone

Backstage Cooperation Award sponsored by TBC North Island Zone:
E.C.H.O. Players Society, North Island Zone

Best Graphic Design, Awarded by Sproing: Amanda Homeniuk, Heath Fletcher

  • Program: Ronan Lannuzel, Collected Stories, E.C.H.O. Players Society, North Island Zone
  • Brochure: Linda Hampshire, Courtenay Little Theatre Society, North Island Zone
  • Poster: Melanie Iddon,Love Letters,Emerald Pig Theatrical Society, Fraser Valley Zone
  • Most Creative Product: Melanie Iddon, The Merry Wives of Windsor, Emerald Pig Theatrical Society, Fraser Valley Zone


Show More...


North Island Zone Festival Results

 Tonight was a huge success for ECHO Players, winning 6 awards in all-

Best Production - Collected Stories – ECHO Players
Runner-up Production - The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged)-Portal Players
Best Director-Sheila Bowman – NTG
Best Male Lead-Elliot Drew – Portal Players – Port Alberni
Best Female Lead-Sherri McLean – NTG
Best Male Supporting Actor – Jon Faris – River City – Campbell River
Best Female Supporting Actress – Laura Buechler – NTG
Best Set Design – ECHO Players – George Murguly
Best Costume Design – ECHO Players – Jane Still
Best Lighting Design – Diena Tyne – Portal Players
Best Sound Design – Sherri McLean – NTG
Best Ensemble Acting - ECHO Players – Beth DeVolder, Jennifer Kelly
Best Backstage Coordination - ECHO Players
Best Youth-Ami McFarlane – NTG
Best Fight Coordination – Courtenay Little Theatre
Best Newcomers-Mitch Cote – Portal Players, Susan Wydenes – River City
Best  Properties - ECHO Players – Tricia Brown
Donna Lamb Award – Sheila Coultish

Guess we’re off to Vernon for June 29th! Congratulations, everyone!

Want to Get Involved in the Theatre?

Do you have experience directing plays?   Are you looking to get involved with a theatre group on Vancouver Island?   ECHO Players, a thriving amateur theatre company located at the Village Theatre in beautiful downtown Qualicum Beach, is looking to expand its Director’s list.    

ECHO Players has a strong Board of Directors who ensure that the club is managed in a fiscally-responsible fashion with care given to the safety of audiences and members alike.   Our productions are supported by an enthusiastic group of volunteers who contribute a wide array of talents.  From experienced stage managers and producers to capable set, lighting and sound designers, our community theatre group works hard  to support directors and their casts.    Our creative costume people work from an impressive wardrobe and we have great props, set construction and set decorating teams.  

Our Season is comprised of four productions (October, December, February, and April).   We also annually host a 1-Act Play Festival in November. 

If you are interested in more information and/or would like your name included on our email list for our annual invitation to submit a play to direct, please email me