About Us

E.C.H.O. Players is a community theatre group serving the region of Vancouver Island from Nanaimo to Courtenay and east of the mountains.  

The original group was founded in 1934 as the E.C.H.O. Playmakers (the initials standing for “Errington, Coombs, Hilliers and Others”, as members were drawn from all the neighbouring districts).   The group disbanded during the Second World War and, during the fifties and sixties, members dispersed among a number of other local groups but came together in the founding of the Mid-Island Drama Festival that ran from 1947 to 1958.  In 1974 the present group under the name E.C.H.O. Players was formed and has been operating continuously since then.  

The Village Theatre in Qualicum Beach, was originally built in 1949 as a movie theatre and was purchased by the ECHO Players as a home for the group in 1974 for $37,000 – a large amount of money for a small group to raise in those days. 

It was then converted into a working theatre with major renovations required including the building of a stage, acquiring second hand seating, renovating washrooms and creating dressing rooms, all of which was undertaken by the labour of the members themselves and many volunteers from the community.  The group worked hard to have the theatre completed by a deadline of March 31, 1975 when they hosted one of the largest North Island Zone Festivals ever with nineteen one-act plays presented over eight nights.

Our Goal...

Our Goal... "To nurture the love of theatre, we explore, expand and develop theatrical talent and we create quality entertainment for our community".


Membership in E.C.H.O. Players

Membership in E.C.H.O. Players is $15 a year and is due in the middle of August each year. Membership has many benefits: you will be informed of all auditions and other events that take place throughout the year, and will be eligible to participate in all productions. You will also receive invitations to New Member Nights, Opening Night Parties, Christmas parties, the annual summer BBQ and many other activities.

We are looking forward to another exciting year of theatre, and we encourage all our members to participate, either on or off stage, whatever your interests. There is a lot to do, and it is a great way to get involved and to meet some very talented and interesting people.

If you have any questions about ECHO Players or the membership, please do not hesitate to call Lesley McVey, Membership Secretary at 250-752-1980 or email lmcvey47@telus.net.

Download "Get Into the Act" - pdf ...
Download Membership Form - pdf ...

ECHO Players is a Proud Member of ...

A Proud Member of Theatre BC

North Island Zone

ECHO Players is a member of Theatre BC and participates in the Annual Festival of the North Island Zone.   We have received many awards over the years both at the Zone Festivals and Mainstage Festivals.

Awards Received from North Island Zone/Mainstage Festivals (pdf) ...

Board of Directors

Position Name
President Rose Knabb
Vice President Mike Andrews
Secretary Anne Drozd
Treasurer John Stuart
Past President Ken McCready
  Ron Stoltz
  Margaret Jenkins
  Stephen Torrence
  Sue Murguly
  Jim Windsor
  Jennifer Kelly
Play Reading Committee Helen Margaret Randall
NIZ Chair Linda Attley
School Liaison (ADC subcommittee) Jennifer Kelly
Publicity Sue Murguly
Costume Pam McCready & Lucy Churchill
Concession/Group Bookings Tricia Browne
Phone Lucy Churchill
Script Librarian Jan Taggert
Social Margaret Jenkins
Technical Ken McCready
Theatre Management Alistair McVey
Health & Safety Alistair McVey
The Bugle Newsletter Kerry Campbell
Theatre BC/NIZ Lesley McVey
Set Coordination & Hilliers Phil Copple & Don Punter
Props Coordinator Judi Andrews
Membership Lesley McVey
Website Chris Lee
One Act Play Festival Margaret Jenkins
Bar Management Janet Taggart
Archivist Eileen Butts
ECHO Players Arts Fund Joe Martin

Our Honorary Life Members

We honor ...

Sue Murguly
George Murguly
HM Randall
Pat Bolton
Lucy Churchill
Paul Churchill
Phil Copple
Ann Gates
Margaret Jenkins
Geoff Jenkins
Doug Klassen
Dori McGarrigle
Alistair McVey
Leslie McVey
Eileen Butts
Jay Norton
Eileen Pope
Jean Smith
Ian Taylor
Doug Toombs
Yvette Toombs